Suspension WDH what are your thoughts?

Axl

Dec 23, 2014
Brisbane/Bayside
Having recently brought my first van I am still learning the ropes and I would appreciate your thoughts on my set up. The story so far is I have only towed the Expanda twice once from the Gold Coast to Brisbane then form Brisbane to the Sunshine Coast, on the second journey I had a B double pan teck pass me at a great rate of knots and the van got a bit of a wobble up, it was nothing drastic but enough to make me sit up and take notice as I have never felt this before.

Searching through the posts on here I realise it could be a combination of things such as van tyre pressure or airbag pressure but having a look on Gumtree I see that I can pick up a WDH for around half the price of new so I am thinking that I will grab one if it doesn’t work out I can always sell it.

My tow vehicle set up is a V6 3.8 lt petrol 2010 Pajero with a suspension upgrade, EFS Elite shocks with standard EFS coils 40mm lift as well as high pressure Firestone airbags, the van is a 2010 14.44.3 Expanda. When hooked up it sits almost level the bum sags maybe 10mm or so and that is with 30PSI in the bags. The previous owner told me he has seen a ball weight as heavy as 200kgs plus when fully loaded.

Of course I could put AL-KO ESC on but the money is a bit tight at the moment so I am thinking try the WDH first if I am still uncomfrotable then put sell the WDH and put the ESC on.

Your thoughts on this are greatly appreciated.

Last edited:

LUK77Y

Dec 22, 2012
Central Coast - NSW
A few good points on ESC:

1. Works without manual intervention
2. Immediately independently applies brakes to each wheel
3. Reduces snaking (not completly)
4. 1200 or so bucks
5. Maybe a discount on insurance (I got an extra 3% off premium)

Reactions: Axl

Axl

Dec 23, 2014
Brisbane/Bayside
A few good points on ESC:

1. Works without manual intervention
2. Immediately independently applies brakes to each wheel