Diesel Guys help

Mick

Mar 15, 2014
Victoria
As I am new to diesel I love my new Ranger mk11 but have fallen into the baffling worldwide web of he said she said do you need to warm up the new age diesel engines or just turn key and go?
I have asked Ford when I picked up my new truck and they say turn key and go as the new modern diesel engines dont use a glow plug to heat up before starting.
I have read my owners book it has a diagram of the glow plug coil and it says that it will only come on when its extremely cold I know the owners manual cover all models but when I turn the key on I haven't seen the lamp on the dash any were.
As for the web I have mixed information as no you don't need to warm up before driving and I have read
And I have also read you do as I don't want to kill it so any one really know what to do ???
Apologies in advance for the long story but I would value experience form diesel experts.

Mick

Mar 15, 2014
Victoria
I have a mk1 and the glow plug lights up for a second or 2 max. I always wait for it to go out. Habit I guess.
I dont see one on my dash don't even know if it has one but I have been turning the key on and wait for a second until the Ad Blue goes out

Jags73

Mar 25, 2016
Angle Vale SA
@Mick did some googling on the 3.2 & it's a direct injection combustion camber, so no glow plugs are required, pre-combustion chambers need glow plugs.
I still run & warm up any diesel before putting under load or towing, probably more so with higher turbo pressures on smaller cubes.
Most of these light modern diesels now have alloy heads & are prone to cracking earlier in their life over the cast iron deals, so I wouldn't hit the power until warmed up.
I have a chip on the Cruiser & only turn it on when fully warmed up, the chip is only used for towing.8-)

Reactions: Bluey

Mick

Mar 15, 2014
Victoria
Thanks for this information I do let warm up before pulling the expanda but I wasnt shore on what to do on short trips to the shops and work

Jags73