16' Series Aircon

stuartcarr2002

May 13, 2011
Sydney
Hi Guys

Just come back from a 5 day trip to the central coast.

Question, It was a little warm , but not to hot. I love aircon so i cranked it up. I have had it running out the front of our house on a hot day and it worked well, and the fan noise under the van was constantly on so the compressor was running.

This time as it wasnt as hot, i put it on and all it did was blow fan and no cold air. It didnt seem to cut in.

I am a mechanic by trade so i though i would oull the control panel off the front where the knobs are. There is a themostate sensor there. I touched it with my hands and i think the heat from my hand must have told it something. The air starts to work. :shocked:.
My question is, does the air only work when it is really warm or is something wrong. The heater seems to be ok and does cycle in and out when I use the temp switch.

It is the heron 2.2. the standard one with the 2011 Expanda.

Other than that, this was its first trip for more than a weekend and was awesome. It was in a couple of big storms and rain, but no leaks :)

cancan

Sep 26, 2011
Manly; Brisbane
Just slightly off topic but how did you find the air con. Trying to work out if the standard aircon works well or if the roof mount is worth the extra dollars

stuartcarr2002

May 13, 2011
Sydney
When it worked it was good, the air is really cold coming out of it. Maybe if it was 40 plus degres it may struggle, but i would put that down to the canvas letting heat in rather than a full type van.

Gaz70

Banned
Sep 14, 2011
Sunshine Coast, Queensland