Suspension WDH and Airbags

mrhappi

Oct 24, 2012
Ipswich
Hi guys,

We're off to Tassie on Saturday (yes super exciting for The Happi's) to pick up our "new to us" Journey from @taz
We've been fortunate enough to also have a Hayman Reece WDH included as part of the sale but I've never used one before.
Our Paj has aftermarket springs and airbags.

My question for those with both airbags and WDH is... do you deflate the airbags when using a WDH? The Google's not helping so I was hoping some advice from the horse's mouth might help :)

achjimmy

Jan 24, 2011
@mrhappi I would just leave 5 psi in the airbags if your going to run the WDH . You don't need both. But unless you load up the drawbar a 16:49-1 would be okay behind a upgraded Paj without WDH too.

Reactions: mrhappi

Bushman

Forum Moderator
Staff member
Nov 9, 2010
Wollondilly Shire NSW
The sort answer is no don't deflate the airbags, as they actually both do very different jobs. However the bags and WDH work well together, the bags should be used for the load already in the vehicle so should be inflated before the vans in on, then use the WDH to correct the added weight to the rear imposed by the van.

mrhappi

Oct 24, 2012
Ipswich
Cheers @achjimmy we currently drag around a 16.49-1 without WDH with no probs but the Journey's a little bigger (17.55.5SH) so think we definitely need that extra stability.

@Bushman I've read the bags inflated can work against the WDH. But like you've said I've also read they can complement each other. I'm interested to know if you're talking from experience.

yabbietol

Sep 2, 2014
Queanbeyan NSW
Use the air bags and the WDH they work well together.