Electrical 12V Water Pump Installation

rjstokes

Jun 5, 2013
Perth, WA
Hi McKenzie. It's been working a treat since I installed it. I did it as per my last diagram (i.e.. 2 separate systems entirely). The mains lines feed the mixer tap and a drawbar tap - the pump feeds a separate tap on the sink and the drawbar. It's got an isolation switch and the pump is under the van under a steel cover I made. The only addition I made was to put in an accumulator under the sink which serves to damp out any pressure fluctuations. Definitely worth while - its great to have pressure water available when your off mains power.

Cheers!

McKenzie

Jul 15, 2015
Brisbane
@rjstokes thank you. I'm waiting on delivery of our van. I'm completely new to the world of caravans. I don't know why. For some reason I thought there would be an electric pump standard. For all the dollars you pay.

Anyway it will be fun to install.

daznmel

Oct 21, 2013
Hi rjstokes,
I too have followed this thread with interest. I am looking at fitting a pump to my 17.56.1.
My mate had a 17.56.2, so I completely mapped out his plumbing to figure out how Jayco did it.
With a hot water system and shower in the mix, there are pipes going every where under his van.
Basically, there is only one non return valve on the mains input. The pump draws water from the pipe that goes to the hand pump.
There was a adjustable flow control valve after the pump, and connect via a T piece into the vans plumbing. The only other thing I did find was a water filter under the van from the tanks. (I found this interesting as my 17.56.1 does not have this filter). I suggest they relied on the built in flow value in the pump to prevent the mains water going through the pump to the tanks (unless the adjustable flow valve is also a non return valve)

I intend to maintain the one system, with the option of either mains or pump to my sink or external tap.