14' Series Suburban SW6DEA Hot Water System

Angela

Sep 12, 2017
Brisbane
Hi newbie here. We took our van out for the first time over the weekend and had no hot water. It was warm for 5-10 seconds, then went cold.
Jayco came out yesterday and turned the thermostat up from just below half way to high. We still only get warm water but it lasts for a few minutes.
How hot should the water be? Surely I shouldn't have to boil the jug to wash up!

Crusty181

Feb 7, 2010
Mentone, VIC
@Crusty181 ................................

what say you - ???????
Guilty .... hang him. (whoops, wrong forum)

Hi newbie here. We took our van out for the first time over the weekend and had no hot water. It was warm for 5-10 seconds, then went cold.
Jayco came out yesterday and turned the thermostat up from just below half way to high. We still only get warm water but it lasts for a few minutes.
How hot should the water be? Surely I shouldn't have to boil the jug to wash up!

How old is your van? Is it still under warranty?

The water temp should not hot enough to scold, but just past what your average super hero can stand to hold his hand under for too long. In comfortable outside Autumn temperatures, I can get around 13min or so of acceptable temperature shower time before the water starts to go cold. I like hot showers.

Your HWS is not playing well. Have you tried both elec and gas to see if the issue is the same regardless of heating source. That may discount or pinpoint an electric element or burner issue, to narrow down the cause.