Electrical Setec and different sized batteries

JS4910

Sep 21, 2016
Gladstone Central Qld
Hello all,

When we ordered our Starcraft I opted out of Jayco supplying the second battery for two reasons, one the price the wanted and most importantly the location they decided to stick it on the day.

Being an electrician I would prefer to wire it myself and probably re do all the Jayco installed cabling, as well as position it to suit weight distribution and maximise storage and access.

But I also thought that for the same money, or less I could get a larger capacity battery which is never a bad thing meaning the fridge will run longer, meaning the beer will stay colder longer, enough justification in my books.

So with that in mind will the Setec unit handle two different capacity batteries and bring them up to full charge or will it only charge the lower rater unit to maximum and the higher rated unit will only ever get to the same level?

The factory battery is a 100AH AGM but I was looking at a 120AH to 180AH as the second unit, if the Setec can manage it.

Cheers Glen.

Reactions: EDT82

EDT82

Sep 3, 2016
Blackwater, Qld
Hello all,

When we ordered our Starcraft I opted out of Jayco supplying the second battery for two reasons, one the price the wanted and most importantly the location they decided to stick it on the day.

Being an electrician I would prefer to wire it myself and probably re do all the Jayco installed cabling, as well as position it to suit weight distribution and maximise storage and access.

But I also thought that for the same money, or less I could get a larger capacity battery which is never a bad thing meaning the fridge will run longer, meaning the beer will stay colder longer, enough justification in my books.

So with that in mind will the Setec unit handle two different capacity batteries and bring them up to full charge or will it only charge the lower rater unit to maximum and the higher rated unit will only ever get to the same level?