14' Series Newbie Help

ash99

Feb 1, 2016
Lysterfield
Hi All,

I have a bit of a drawn out question I am hoping I can get some help with. Hopefully this is the right place for it. Please go easy on me as I am very new to this.

Firstly, I have a VF2 Commodore SSV with 2100KG tow pack.

Looking at the manual for the car the specs are as follows
Towball Limit: 210kg/2100kg
Care Tare: 1730kg
Load Limit: 480kg. Not sure if this is the same as Payload.

We are a family of 3. I will allow 240kg which is heaps I think.
This leaves 240kg of load limit left.
The manual states that the load limit includes passengers luggage and installed accessories but does not mention ball weight. The only mention of the tow pack is that I need to allow 25kg of the load limit for the weight of the hardware.

Does this mean that I can add 210kg to the towbar so long as the axle load limits aren't exceded. They are F: 1100kg R: 1300kg.

The section of the manual that mentions the tow pack only mentions the towball limit and not exceeding the load limits of the axles but makes no mention of the load limit.

I am very confused.

Next question.
I have recently rented a 14.44-4 Outback with ATM of 1850kg. I towed this with absolutely no issues from Melbourne to Echuca and back. I had the correct WDH on the car and followed all the directions regarding keeping the car level and measuring the amount of drop at each axle. I managed to have the car setup within about 5 to 10 mm of the standard ride height which I was pretty impressed with.

We have now decided to go ahead with buying a van, 14.44-4.

I initially decided I would just get the touring version which has an ATM of 1740kg. BUT... I also have added things like Battery, Solar etc which would push the weight up toward that of the Outback which is quoted as 1935kg ATM. My thinking is that it isn't much of a push price wise for the Outback, the dealer has quoted me 2K difference. My guess is that resale will be better on the Outback.