4wd awning

macpanda

May 26, 2022
Hi all, we are heading in a 7 month trip around Australia is about a month with my wife and 2 kids 7 and 9. I am pretty new to 4wd ownership, but every second 4wd I see has an awning on the side. I can imagine this could come in handy, but I have never actually seen anyone use theirs. Any suggestions on whether they are worth getting? When do people use them?

chartrock

Forum Patriarch
Staff member
Sep 26, 2010
Gold Coast Hinterland
We have one on our BT50 and don’t use it a lot. I have used it on the beach with @Drover and also when on our trip to the cape. It was handy for smoko stops especially if it was raining. It would come into its own if for any reason, you had to stop for a longer period and there was no shade.

Reactions: Drover and macpanda

Drover

Nov 7, 2013
QLD
Ours rarely gets used while away but when we are on the beach its always used...... Instead of using pegs to hold it down I fill a shopping bag with sand as a hold down...... If you get one practice using it, if the wind gets up you don't want to stuff around.

Reactions: chartrock

millers

Mar 25, 2011
Adelaide
There are also a lot of options, from covering one side to covering multiple sides. You may need to have a look where you need the shade/protection. For me with crew cab and fridge slide it would be good to have at least 1 side and back so I can access food and drinks. But as the others have said there may be other options. Sometimes we can carry things around for no reason. You may need to do some test trips (even day ones) to know how you want to travel.

Boots in Action

Mar 13, 2017
Ferny Grove, Queensland