Roll out awnnings ?

Doggy

Aug 20, 2011
Cairns , NTH QLD
Hey Guys, You all may get sick of my questions but its the families first van & would love to get it right from the begging to save the headaches & keep the missus smilling. Lol !

Anyway, the awnnings fitted in factory to the expanda outback models , are they made by Dometic, well to the point are they Dometic awnnings ?
I got told today the factory ones from jayco are not as good a quality as what these Dometic ones are.
So me being me got on you tube & typed in both. Well to me they both look the same , or am I wrong? Is there more to this than meets the eye , so to speak ?

Cheers,
Doggy.

cruza driver

Hercules
Staff member
Nov 9, 2010
Mighty Victoria
When we ordered our Expanda we got it with the factory rollout awning which is a Carefree Awning. So fa it has performed faultlessly for us, I cant comment on other brands as I have had no experience with any others. The is a couple of discussion about awanings on here.

When Bushman comes online he may be able to offer you a bit more advice :ranger:

Doggy

Aug 20, 2011
Cairns , NTH QLD
Lol ! thats me there right now having cup of tea there in front of the puter, while the missus is up Cape York doing guided tours for 21 days . Maybe I need a slurp of something a touch stronger in me tea.

Anyway back to the awnning , I think u r right CD , Mine has been ordered & am sure thats the type being used at present.

Thanks again will wait to here what Bushmans words of wisdom may be also CD.
Cheers,
Doggy.

streaty

Aug 5, 2011
Perth, WA.
Gday Doggy,

From what I understand it's the Annex that's the problem not the awning. Jayco factory fit an annex that is a China import job which is why most dealers choose to fit a locally made annex. I haven't heard of any issues with the awning !!

Cheers
Neil

bully66672

Jun 30, 2011
Melbourne
My 17.56-2 came with the carefree awning.
No problems that I can see or have heard of with this brand.