Just Browsing Ratchet or electric jockey wheel

Gemanji

Apr 12, 2017
Waikiki
Hi all,
I'm a newbie to caravanning and we just bought a 2017 jayco expanda outback. Our side access is a bit weird in shape so just need to let the caravan in, put in the jockey and push it backwards to where it should be. It's all concrete though. Am wondering what can help us best moving it around, a ratchet or an electric dolly?
In saying that, i think i would need that to be working well with grass as well, with parking at caravan parks, being a newbie i don't know how i will fare with reversing it on the spot. Got our first gig this friday at Pemberton WA, new van, newbie driver... good luck to me

Would appreciate advices...

Cheers!

Reactions: bigcol and Drover

Dobbie

Jun 18, 2014
Agree with @mfexpanda ...we found the ratchet type of wheel unreliable. I think it would be ok for a light camper trailer but the van was difficult to move with it. We gave it away!

Have a similar access issue so did a bit of research a couple of years ago and ended up with with an optitech caravan mover.

We didn't want to carry it, didn't want something permanently on van (very heavy) but something we could easily attach to get the van in the shed and something simple.

Have a look at the Opitech...around the $2k mark. They'd be a pain to use in a caravan park as you'd have to stop, change the jockey wheel, hook it up to 12v power and then use it to get the van in.

It'd do it but it could be more effort than going to a park with the van and practising your reversing skills.

Good luck with it and :welcome:

Reactions: bigcol

chartrock

Forum Patriarch
Staff member
Sep 26, 2010
Gold Coast Hinterland
Like the two above, I have a ratchet type which is buried somewhere in my shed as it just does not do the job, especially on grass or on a slope. I just had to learn to back in van parks.

Reactions: bigcol

Drover

Nov 7, 2013
QLD