Exterior How do you hold your awning down

Axl

Dec 23, 2014
Brisbane/Bayside
Howdy all, what methods are there for holding/tying the awning down once it has been unclipped form the van? Is it as simple as looping the rope around the awning barrel and pegging down?

Reactions: Marv_mart

Colsar

May 10, 2014
Mornington Peninsula
Gi day , @axl and welcome.

i swing the legs down and peg, also have a privacy screen that slides into the barrel and i peg that down. if its windy, i add the ropes to the barrel.'

hope this helps, as I'm new to the awning thing, having only used it a few times.

Reactions: Axl

twscoot

Jun 9, 2013
Brisbane
Here's what I do.

I never unclip the base from the van. The triangulation achieved by leaving the foot attached to the van has inherent strength. I was told this when I first bought the van and although it is tempting to unclip the legs and peg them down, I haven't.

Then I use one guy rope each end pegged with a reasonable size peg.

The rope I use has a small carabina attached which I loop around each end of the barrel. Makes for quick attaching and detaching. At the peg end I have a metal spring to provide tension.

6 + years of all sorts of weather and this has never let me down.

Axl

Dec 23, 2014
Brisbane/Bayside
Here's what I do.

I never unclip the base from the van. The triangulation achieved by leaving the foot attached to the van has inherent strength. I was told this when I first bought the van and although it is tempting to unclip the legs and peg them down, I haven't.

Then I use one guy rope each end pegged with a reasonable size peg.

The rope I use has a small carabina attached which I loop around each end of the barrel. Makes for quick attaching and detaching. At the peg end I have a metal spring to provide tension.

6 + years of all sorts of weather and this has never let me down.