Finally taken the plunge!

ROnEM

Mar 13, 2012
Macedon Ranges, Vic
Hi,

I/we are complete newbies to caravaning and after much reluctance on my part and continued requests, "encouragement" and pleading from my wife and kids, we finally ordered our 17.56-2 OB yesterday with delivery expected early August. We have done the camping thing as a family for the last five years and they have been great trips!

While we are planning a 3 or 4 month trip around some of OZ with the kids in two years, I suppose this is the opportunity to get the Expanda and get the bugs ironed out and some experience with some weekends and a few family holidays before the big one!

After reading this forum and some really helpful comments, we have chosen the following options:
- Roll out awning
- Rooftop air conditioner
- 150lt fridge
- Wind up TV antenna
- Picnic table
- 2 x shelves in robe
- Privacy screens
- 100amp battery pack
- Anderson plug to battery
- Control panel
- Add-A-Room annex
- Full oven
- Gas bayonet @ A-frame
- 19" TV/DVD 12v/240v

We have not worried about extra power points or solar (or provisioning for it), but would be interested in advice from others on these.

Was looking at getting a Honda EU20i generator.

As for the car - the 2006 Volvo XC90 has a towing capacity of 2,250kg and a ball weight of 180kg. I guess that I am about to exceed that before we put a single thing in the van! Interested to know how a 3.2lt 4-cylinder Pajero would handle the van, but if I have to, I might also look at the Landcruiser as we also tow a horse, but as my daughter is growing up (fast) we are also getting bigger horses, so this might also become an issue. Again, advice appreciated.

The kids don't know we have made the purchase - they will find out when we go t pick it up.

After all is said and done, I am now most excited - now I get to go to those remote places for the fishing trips I have always dreamed about (once the Expanda turns up in August :frown:)

Cheers,

Ro

BUSH PALACE