Electrical Charging twin battery's

Matt3116

Mar 23, 2016
Victoria
Hi all I've got twin 100apm battery's in our expanda I was just wondering if I can connect my ctech charger straight to the battery to charge instead of charging through the van

Matt3116

Mar 23, 2016
Victoria
Thanks NoWorries do you know if the reading on ctech charger will show readings for both battery's or just the one it's connected to.

Dobbie

Jun 18, 2014
I'd go individually as you're charging externally.

But I'm no expert....happy to be educated by others who know more about it.

Bellbirdweb

Jan 24, 2014
Sydney
As @NoWorries has said, if the batteries are connected in parallel then you only need to connect the charger to one and both will charge.

The charger will see it as a 200AH battery.

As a result it will take longer to charge than a single battery, but they will end up being at the same voltage after charging.

Most twin batteries would be installed and charged this way.

Reactions: Tone

Dobbie

Jun 18, 2014
So......if not using Setec charger and, if you have more than one battery, install in parallel and connect 240v charger to one battery and they'll both charge?

I'm not worried about solar as I know that works but I've learnt something today!

As said, I'm no expert!

BBBFLASH

Jun 20, 2016
Coffs Harbiur
Hi all, but if a newbie here, but someone mentioned different amp hours. I am doing some branding/design work for a company and as payment I am getting a 120 amp hour battery. I wanted to put in in out jeep as a dual battery for the fridge, but I am thinking of installing it in the new caravan until I can save for all the additional stuff.Our new van has a 100amp hour battery. As someone mentioned earlier, if I install it in the caravan and charge it on 240, will the 120 amp hour battery get fully charged?

twscoot

Jun 9, 2013
Brisbane