16.49-3 or 17.56-2 OB

familyof4

Jun 3, 2011
I am new to the expandasdownnder website but have been reading with interest this evening of you posts and helpful suggestions on the forum. I am sure my topic has come up many times before and i apologise in advance if this has been covered. I have a 2007 120 series Prado diesel automatic GXL. Currently I have a Jayco Eagle that i have extensively modified for comfort and remote camping. With the family now growing (2 girls 4yrs and 16 months) i would like to upgrade. I would like to do a tour of Australia in the future but also like to get away for weekends regulary. My questions are -

16.49-3 OB or 17.56-2 OB?
Is the 17.56-2 OB too big for the Prado for a comfortable tow around australia?
Should i get the Outback model?
Is the 16.49-3 too small to live in for months to a year with 2 adults and 2 kids?
Which is easier to tow? Some say the larger twin axle? some say the smaller lighter?

Thanks in advance for your suggestions and help. Have a great weekend.

cruza driver

Hercules
Staff member
Nov 9, 2010
Mighty Victoria
Welcome to the forum, and as you mentioned there is plenty of helpful information to read through. We too changed from a camper trailer to an Expanda. We have a 16.49-3 OB which we have had since Dec 2010.

I cant comment on the 17 footer but there is a few members on here who have them and who have ordered them also. For us personally we went the 16 footer for its overall weight and the fact it also fits inside the enclosed shed when not in use.

Pro's for us
: Enough storage (compared to the Hawk)
: Towing weight and size (use less fuel?)
: Its so quick and easy to set up :) not really a postive over the 17 footer but they are quick LOL